What Bikes Are We Missing? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

Ladies - am I being a wimp, or am I getting old?

I've been riding for about 2 years now, and I'm trying to figure out if I'm being a wimp, or is it just my brain?

The situation is that I'd love to ride like my husband the other guys that I ride with, but they are WAY FAST!!! I think that I'm getting better, and quicker, then I ride with them and poof, they're gone. We ride in tight woods, so it's a bit sketchy sometimes on the trail. Don't get me wrong, I'll go anywhere, I just get there slower. I try to go as fast as my brain will let me (it keeps telling me that my body not broken is a good thing), but in reality it's not anything as fast as the guys.

Am I being a wimp and being afraid of getting hurt, or is this a time issue? Will I get better with more time on the bike?

FYI here's a link of some helmet cam footage my husband took so you can see where we ride.

http://media.putfile.com/PNWet-Trail-Sampler

• Like 1

Am I being a wimp and being afraid of getting hurt, or is this a time issue? Will I get better with more time on the bike?

Yes, and yes.

Being afraid of getting hurt doesn't make you a wimp, though. It does make for a slightly longer learning process than those who throw caution to the wind and twist the throttle WFO. It's also an age thing, but not because you are "old" in any sense of the word. Pretty much any of us who learned how to ride after we were out on our own, no matter how old, are more cautious than those who learned at a young age when they were still living with their parents.