Sign in to follow this  

clutch

hey guys i need help im new with the clutch cause this is my first bike with a clutch and i know how to use it but i need to know how to let it go faster without flipping or doing a whellie cause im light and my bike can lift me with ease

thanks

luke

Originally Posted by Gary_Semics

The clutch is more critical on 2 strokes. 4 strokes are so torquey that the clutch is not so important but it should still be used to help the bike accelerate out of the corner. Of course, if you're going to lock up the rear wheel in order to do a brake slide you're going to have to pull the clutch in but other than that you should leave the clutch out while braking in order to utilize the engine braking effect.

i dnt use it when im upshifting, but i do use it when im downshifting that way i could prevent the rear wheel from locking and stalling my bike (especially in turns). I use it to downshift aslo because u get better control when u are engaging a turn...

somtimes i down or upshift while in the air, depending on if there is a straight or a quick turn, but i usually pull the clutch a lil bit to maintain the RPM through turns...BUT IT WONT HURT UR CLUTCH...

ohh yea make sure to get off the throttle when u shift without the clutch...So basically using the clutch when upshifting won't hurt ur transmission, thats just how 4 stroke clutches are made.....

I always down shift with the clutch out unless I'm doing a brake slide to prevent the motor from stalling just like Gary said.

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/framed.htm?parent=sequential-gearbox.htm&url=http://www.vf750fd.com/blurbs/shifting.html

explains how the transmission in most common motorcycles...