Sign in to follow this  

Cougar in the Trask

My hunting buddies and I are always arguing on the # of cougar in the trask mountains. Ive been hunting, riding, and camping this area for over 20yrs, and still have no cougar sightings. I wanna hear stories or see pictures of what any of you have seen. Tell me your opinion or fact of cougar population in these mountains. Thanks.

A buddy of mine was Elk hunting & saw one. S. of TSF. He was using his calf call. :applause:

Well im going to assume that im right, there arent to many cougar in the Tillamook state forest. 41 views with 1 hunting sighting. I know these things are very sneaky, but you would think that you would see 1 eventually.

They are there, and so are bears but good luck ever seeing one. I have been riding the TSF for 30 years and have not seen ether. Lot's of bob cats though.

I can tell you there ARE cougars in the Silver Falls State Park, one killed a deer in the main camp area. We live next to there and have seen cougars several times. We have four dogs that go with us whenever we are on foot. Don't know what the dogs would do, but we feel safer!

In the People's Republic of Washington State there are estimated to be 30,000 black bears and 3,000 Cougars. There are places I can go if I want to see bears and have done so with almost a 100% success rate. I have seen one Cougar in that time. That makes sense if you consider there are ten times as many bears.

Also keep in mind that most of the time a bear is moving around it is going from berry patch to berry patch. That doesn't require a stealthy approach which is one reason why bears are relatively easy to spot. Cougars on the other hand have to kill their meals so they are always in stalking-stealth mode. Combine that with their low numbers and it makes sense why they are so hard to spot, even in an area where they are known to be.

Greg