Sign in to follow this  

help me trouble shoot my new/old dirtbike...

i took a 94 RM250 2 stroke in trade a couple weeks back. ive been on it about 6 times in the last couple weeks, and rode the devils racetrack in the san rafael swell last weekend. i struggled on the steep rocky stuff. it seemed that i had to take it twice as fast as everyone else, or my bike would stall. that made it tough to pick the right lines.

im new to dirtbikes, with no previous experience. my buddy came over last night and wanted to ride my dirt bike. he took it up in the mountains by my house, and came back about 30 min later. he has owned a few different dirt bikes, and says something is wrong w/ mine for sure.

he says its way underpowered for a 2 stroke 250, and it isnt running right. he says he cant believe i took in on trails running as weak as it is.

there is almost NO power in 1st gear until the powerband. you cant even get the front wheel off the ground even with significant effort and lots of clutch.

any ideas on what to check first? my friend says he thinks it sounds like it may need a new topend/piston. any input would be appreciated.

assuming you haven't checked ANYTHING, i would start wth the airfilter. also change the spark plug wouldnt hurt. if that fails, either you're gonna need to replace top end, or change/adjust your jetting. to do that you should start by setting your float height in your carb, theres a lot of good threads in here about jetting if you search for them. also good gas could help too, you should at least be running 93 octane.