Sign in to follow this  

Autopsy picture

The rod shows little or no wear. The bearing itsself looks OK. The crankpin is the culprit here. It has, as you can see, a nasty groove worn in it..crappy metal? doubt it.

Insufficient oiling? who knows...

The good news is my junk is all back in one piece, new motor top to bottom.. and now I can get rid of the damn thing

100_3243.jpg

That is a very interesting picture.....

As you say, the conrod and the bearings themselves look pretty good. It would be very surprising that a lack of oil would manifest as showing all the damage on to one part of pin/bearing/rod though.....

I'd say the only way that could happen is if the pin is substandard material. All three of those pieces should be "similar" in grade steel yes...? So even if it lets go...why would all the damage just show up at the pin.

Bad pin.. I bet if you had a pice of that analyzed it would show as being an incorrect grade of steel.

But I'm just a biologist, what do I know..? :applause:

PRelHacko'

AFM # 97

After seeing that Whip, makes me wonder if the same company that makes the pins also makes the rods.................. they probably heat treat them (harden them). The guy that is in charge of hardening is obviously as busy at work as Homer Simpson is :applause: :applause:

my friend's was the rod that went first and then worked on the bearing cage and rollers.

IMG_0137.jpg

The rod shows little or no wear. The bearing itsself looks OK. The crankpin is the culprit here. It has, as you can see, a nasty groove worn in it..crappy metal? doubt it.

Insufficient oiling? who knows...

The good news is my junk is all back in one piece, new motor top to bottom.. and now I can get rid of the damn thing

100_3243.jpg

The rod,bearings and pin that I gave to the Suzuki rep last year looked exactly like that one and the groove went aout 1/3 -1/2 of the way around the pin. Like dejavu man !