Sign in to follow this  

FMF Mega Bomb

I'm planning on ordering the FMF Mega Bomb for my 07 KX250F this weekend, but there is a little confusion. FMF's website states that the Mega Bomb header works with the stock pipe or one of FMF's pipes. But I have heard a few stories on ThumperTalk about the Mega Bomb header not fitting the stock pipe.

Anyone on this forum run the FMF Mega Bomb header with the stock pipe or know of anyone with this set up. Will the Mega Bomb fit the stock kx250f pipe?

I have the FMF factory 4.1 slip-on. The outside diameter of the stock header is smaller than the inside diameter of the mid pipe. This is with the aluminum insert installed. I would imagine the Mega bomb header would be too large for the stock pipe without some modification. Maybe if of shaved down the black insert on the stock pipe it would work?

I am no expert. Trust me.

:applause:

Your stock header is better. Unless you've damaged your stock pipe, I'd suggest you keep it and buy a silencer in stead.

Why is that?

Your stock header is better. Unless you've damaged your stock pipe, I'd suggest you keep it and buy a silencer in stead.

I beg to differ, not true. More power is made with a header. The length, thickness, and steps of the header have a lot to do with how the power is made. I'm not looking to make my bike louder, I'm wanting a little bit more usable power. I like the idea of the Mega Bomb too. Creates bottom end of a long header and top end of a short header. I'd much rather buy the Mega Bomb and get a decent gain in overall power than spend $500-800 on a full system and get similar gains in power.

I plan on picking up the mega-bomb next week as my b-day gift to myself. If you can wait I will see how it fits on the stock mid-pipe and exhaust and post my results.