Sign in to follow this  

Making sense of Wideband O2.

This is my first attempt to "tune" a carb engine with a wideband O2 sensor, and I'm finding it's not that easy. Instead of uploading a map over USB to some PowerCommander, I'm looking at a voodoo analog computer with orifices and needles, jets and slides..

I'm hoping someone could sketch out their "here's what I do" pattern for checking Air/Fuel and interpreting the results. It's one thing to do a full-open runup in fourth gear, but how do you check the A/F across the throttle?

Is it normal for A/F to have a lot of noise? I'm sampling it 100 times a second, and the readings (from LC-1) seem to change rapidly. I've confirmed it with tha second unit and second analog output, so I don't think this is communication noise. What does the Wideband Commander output look like?

Here's an example of moderate RPM with just "maintenance throttle" at around 40mph:

part_throttle.gif

Since the throttle is just cracked open, is it normal for the A/F to be so lean (15)?

I just look at the gauge while I'm riding and note the reading

and my throttle position (15 is way too lean obviously)... should be between 12.8 and 13.2. When I was adjusting mine the needle was good, 1/4 to 3/4 throttle, but the main needed adjusting since it was rich at WOT around 12.

thats why i prefer the wideband commander.the readings are much easier to decipher.

is there a "smoothing" or "slow rate" logging option?

you need to put the bike in 4th gear and do steady throttle readings at different rpm/throttle positions.

your graph looks like that becuase nto only did you shift,but your not holding the throttle steady.

light load steady throttle can be as lean as 15 some times.but ideally i like to see it 13.5 to 14.0.

what jetting?