First dual purpose, need some help

Hi, I am looking to buy my first dual purpose bike. I've only road trails and offroad stuff before and this will be my first street legal bike. I will most likely use it probably about 70+/30- on/off road. So im looking for something leaning more toward street but wont compromise too much offroad because although it wont be used as much offroad id like for it to perform well(enough). Like I said im new to street so handling would be huge to me(at higher speeds).So far ive considered the xt225, klx250s, and drz400(not sure about the weight and height;im 6'and would like to be able to put both feet on the ground because of being new to street and weight; b/c im not sure about the maneuverablity it would have on tighter trails). And if it helps in narrowing/widening my choices im 150#'s & 6'. Also i'd like to keep it 400cc or smaller

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My take on DS riding is that it is hard to enjoy the asphalt portion when you have to wring the guts out of a bike just to keep up with traffic. Not having the power to ride hard on the road when the conditions are right for it takes a lot of the fun out of a dual sport ride. Not having the power to pass a minivan full sightseers takes all the fun out of it. So you can guess where I am headed with that list of choices.

First, with apologies to people that own them, the XT225 would be at the very bottom of my list. The suspension is way out of date and it is way underpowered for the street. But it is cheap, simple and reliable. So, if you want an inexpensive bike that is likely to never die and even less likely to ever excite you, then go for it. Otherwise X it off the list right now.