Sign in to follow this  

rebuild question...another one...

I have read about a thousand threads for the last few weeks, and im thinking about rebuilding my 05 crf250r. It has alot of hours on it im sure, the guy that had it before me rode it almost every weekend, and i ride every weekend so i know its about time.

My question is, i am in auto in tidewater community college, and i took some auto in jobcorps, and i have been riding dirtbikes for about 9 years. I rebuilt my kx 100 top end about 4 or 5 times, how much more difficult is it to rebuild a 4 stroke top end? If i buy the clymers manual? Is it much harder? Should i just bring it to the shop? I get scared when it comes to the timing. Some people say it is SOOO hard :applause: some say it is not bad. I have no clue.

Also i dont want all oem parts, what parts should i start buying? Like what kind of piston? wiseco is what i ran in my kx, but what are the differences between Athena, je and wiseco? And is it better to have high compression, or lower? Should i order aftermarket valves? titanium?

I am sorry i have asked so many questions, but after weeks of reading, i still dont know what to do...

Thanks guys

Kris :applause:

Ok, It is relatively straight forward to rebuild your motor, just pick up yourself a Honda Service manual, and it is time for a rebuild.

For parts:

Wiseco High compression piston kit 13.5:1 w/ gaskets

If you valves are not ok, I would get your seats ground, and new guides put in, then get some new valves, seals, springs, retainers and keepers. OEM is the best bang for the buck, and I have had great luck with it, but if you want more longetivity for valves I would get RHC's Coated ferra steel valves and his springs, or some of faction mx's stainless steel valves with their high rev spring set.

Then I would think about a cam chain and a manual cam chain tensioner