Sign in to follow this  

KX 65 Gear Oil ?

Hey, wondering what type of gear oil you all use. Didn't find much using Search.

I just picked up a used '03 65 couple weeks ago and will be changing out the gear oil. Manual says to use API SE, SF, or SG 10w-40, which I'm told is a engine oil not gear lube?

Reason I ask is, I just talked with this guy who had to have his lower end rebuilt on his sons 65 due to using 2-stroke gear lube and not engine oil. His mechanic told him that. Something to do with the 65's only. I was going to use the Honda Pro gear lube that I use in my CRF, but maybe not?

Thanks, and I'm new to the 2-strokes.

Nonsense. There's nothing special about the gearbox of a KX65 compared to the millions of other 2-strokes out there.

Gearbox oil will work fine, as will motor oil. I would avoid the lighter weight energy saving oils, as they have been known to cause clutch issues.

The Honda gearbox oil will be fine, as would Dello 400, ATF, any 20-50 wt oil, etc.

I have ran type F tranny fluid in my kids KX60 for the past 3 years and it's still on the same clutch with no issues. The gear box in the 60 is the same one in your 65 only the cylinders are different in size.

Is the type f ATF better than Castrol 10/40 motor oil? Ive seen this before on TT but never asked about it or tried it. Also have a YZ85 I would like to try it in.

Thanks

Thanks for the replies guys. Yea, I kinda had one eye cocked when he was telling me this. I know he was convinced, so that got me to thinking. I mean it's just gears and clutch like the rest.

May just go with the same oil I use in the KLX 110. Keep it simple and readily available in my area. I've heard about the ATF fluid also, but never tried it.

Man, this little bike rips. Don't think I've ever seen a bigger smile on my sons face before. Might have to sell the 110. Took him about 10 stalls and a couple tears to learn the clutch. Again thanks and take care.