Sign in to follow this  

Mis-shifting '05 YZ250?

I seem to be mis-shifting, especially when I try to gear down from 3rd to 2nd. I end up in neutral. I have tried changing the oil, using both 10W30 and specific use trans oil (Bel Ray). The problem persists. Is there something wrong with my transmission, or is it just because I am a noob and still suck at shifting? Is it common to overshift into neutral when looking for 2nd from 3rd?

On a related note, when refilling the oil, do you fill until oil leaks out of the oil check plug hole, or do you put in the 700ml? There seems to be a huge discrepancy - oil starts flowing out the oil check plug hole after about 400ml.

Thanks.

Seems to be a common problem with the YZ250... Its called catching a "false neutral" and its a PITA.

Its even more common on 125's and somewhat rare on 250's, however the YZ250 seems to have a problem with it.

On the YZ it can happen between 2-3 and even 3-4. Its actually getting cought up between the two gear selections, once its in a false neutral it wont fall into its selected gear untill the engine RPM's settle back down and the dogs can slide into thier groove.

Its caused by two things....

1. A lazy or half azz shift.

2. A lazy or half azz shift with a slightly worn tranny dogs.

The problem is the more you cause problem #1 to happen the more it wears the dogs and then it starts to become problem #2.

I started to have the problem on mine and have been focusing on more complete shift lever movements. Its not that I am shifting slower, but I am shifting more complete (like its intended to be done). Since I've been praticing this I havent been getting the false neutrals I once was getting. I guess I changed my habbits before the Dogs got too worn. But, I been in my trans on this bike twice now so once more wouldnt have killed me anyway.