Sign in to follow this  

forks and suspension

Im thing on adding dome spacers to my forks. but i dont know what exactly it does. and i was trying to adjust the preload yesterday, but i couldnt get it to loosen up. no sure what it does. can someone please explain to me what those things are for? thanks. one more thing. i am 5'6 and around 150. how can i set up my suspension for the whoops. so i can go though them a little easier. thanks again

I'm not an expert by any means in suspension setup, but to help you with other things. Spray up the pre-load rings with WD-40, use a hammer and punch, they'll come loose. Your also thinking of putting spacers in your forks. What you do is you add 1" O.D washer on top of your springs. They pre-load your springs and make the forks stiffer.

Be more specific, why exactly are you having problems with them? I cannot give you a simple solution, riding is a skill you have to learn by practice.

-Matt

sort of scary to look at. but with my little xr 80 i would just jump them. im still hesitating to jump my 150. 216 pounds scary...

What would pre-loading be good for? im just trying to get though the whoops better and faster. would these things work?

Preload does a lot for you (see link below) especially with these progressive springs (see link below).

Here's a thread that should answer most if not all of your questions: http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1940565#post1940565

Post up if you have any questions after that.

The fork cap wouldn't come off probably because you didn't loosen the upper pinch bolts.

Good luck!

:applause:

so preloading the forks is just taking off the cap and placing the washers in and torqueing the cap back on? what should it do? would it make my ride rougher smoother or the same. i know it should help with jumps. also how many washers should i use in each fork for my weight? i weight 150.

What will preloading the shock do?

thanks