Sign in to follow this  

Cam Chain Sprocket Bolts Sheared!

Hi all! I'm a newbie here, so please bear with me if this particular problem has been answered somewhere else. I did a search and didn't see anything.

My son's friend asked me to take a look at his XR70R, which had reportedly died while at approx. 1/2 throttle. No compression when he tried kicking to restart.

My first thought was either a broken cam chain or sheared flywheel (woodruff) key. When I popped off the cam chain sprocket cover, I saw that the two bolts holding the sprocket on had completely sheared and and also chewed up a good portion of the inside of the cover. Aluminum shavings everywhere!

Any idea what could have caused this and, other than cleaning up the shavings and replacing the munged parts, anything else I should look at before reassembling?

Thanks in advance!

Dan