Sign in to follow this  

New KTM XC/EXC Spied

From the April 2007 Dirt Rider Magazine:

Although it looks like an SX model, with handguards and a headlight, closer inspection reveals an all-new motor! Mated to the latest generation bottom end, now with electric start, the top end is a single-cam design like all the former SX models (pre-2007 450/525) and current EXC/XC bikes.

Expect a weight reduction and a higher power output. The water pump is now located on the case instead of off the camshaft. We suspect the transmission will continue to be a six-speed. When will we see it? Not sure, as KTM wouldn't comment on the bike but did mention that any homologation in the U.S. is a timely process. Could be '08 or '09.

Although the DOHC KTM is using is proving to be very reliable I'm not real suprised at with the use of a SOHC on the off-road bikes. What does suprise me is their (DR Mag) expectation of more power from a single cam. I'm no engine designer/builder but I'm pretty sure that a DOHC will always have more HP potential than a SOHC.

I agree. Maybe they have come up with some new configuration that will give DOHC power with SOHC simplicity. If ever there was a manufacture willing to try something new and radical it would be KTM.

Am I missing something? Isn't the CRF450R a "Unicam" motor? as are the rest of the MX based Honda dirt bikes. Honda's make good power obviously.

Yep, the Honda is SOHC design and it makes good power. There are those that believe the Hondas eat valves because of the high side loads on the valves (due to the Unicam design).

Although the DOHC KTM is using is proving to be very reliable I'm not real suprised at with the use of a SOHC on the off-road bikes. What does suprise me is their (DR Mag) expectation of more power from a single cam. I'm no engine designer/builder but I'm pretty sure that a DOHC will always have more HP potential than a SOHC.

Im curious,why would a sohc deliver less power than a dohc...???