Sign in to follow this  

Are slicks a waste for a newbie?

I know it's a broad question and many factors are involved. I'm converting my CRF450 and am planning on running open practices at Beaverun. From what I've seen, they don't usually open the dirt section for practice, so dirt traction isn't an issue. I was thinking that a quality set of DOT tires would be cheaper, have enough grip and have better longevity than slicks. Being a noob, I thought a little less grip than slicks might actually help me learn to slide a little easier. I did 2 open practices with a sportsman WR and was really surprised how much grip a skinny set of Cheng Shits gave, so any decent quality wide 17" tires should be an improvement. I'm sure alot of guys egos will convince them that they need slicks but I'll readily admit that Jeff Ward has nothing to fear from me. :applause: Any opinion from guys who have run both?

i would suggest Pilot Powers or Pirelli Diablo Corsas (on my track bike, i was able to run 1:04s at BeaveRun with no problems with Pirelli Diablo Corsas). i always liked how the DCs slid.

Who told you that DOT's last longer than Slicks..? Not so..

Get the DOT's they warm up quicker. If you get "Good" take offs, you be $$$ ahead once you get some practice and confidence, then buy some New tires, be it DOT's or slicks..might wanna think about gettin some tire warmers at some point If your gonna race.

Not really planning on racing. I had a great time just at the open practices and don't really need to be taken out by some goofball ready to kill both of us for 1 finishing place higher in the last turn. Besides, I get more track time for my money at practice than I would racing.

Actually it was only my assumption that DOT's lasted longer than slicks. I have no real experience with slicks. Are they a better buy?