Sign in to follow this  

06' sxf250 starting problems

First off I'd like to say hello I'm a newbie to the site , but not a newbie to riding , or fixing bikes. I just bought an 06' sxf250 , and I kick the bike around 60times , then let it sit for ten minutes and it fires on one kick. The bike is a used race bike. I've been riding nothing but honda cr250's for years got on my buddies ktm 250sxf and feel inlove (when they run.) I checked the valves they are within clearance , checked the carb. it's clean , bought a new plug doesn't change almost every time 61 kicks my leg and brain are tired. If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated thanks, Ben

Check out the fuel screw and the usual carb stuff.

If the bike is second hand and engine hours unknown take off the head cover and turn the motor over to line up the cams and lock the motor at the bottom using the bolt. Check that the cams are "inline" If they are out a lot (I do not mean that they were assembled wrong and one tooth out) the cam chain is worn and that will make them near impossible to start but when going no problem. Had this happen on a couple of them now.

another thought is the spark plug cap. It fails at times and causes very indifferent starting

I checked the cams they are inline , and the timing chain also on mark. I went and bought a new racing plug , and in 1 kick the bike started.I ran it for awhile and missed neutral and the bike stahled. I kicked it once again about 60 times found a hill , and caught the bike in gear started right up , went home cleaned the plug and it fired once again on one kick. It continues to need me to clean the plug before it wants to start. I'm probably just going to buy a new spark plug cap , and change out the jetts thanks again guys , Ben