Sign in to follow this  

high octane fuel

I had heard that some bikes don't necessarily run better with the higher octane. That they are designed to run on octane levels in the low 90's. Does anyone have any feed back on this. I am fairly new to riding and really don't know what to believe and what not to believe. I ride an 04 525mxc, and haven't tried the racing fuel, but was thinking of trying it at an upcoming desert race.

High Octane Fuel is for High Compression Pistons. It is needed to avoid knocking and pinging from pre-detonation. High Octane fuels basically are harder to ignite but when used with a a high compression piston (or turbo) it produces more power, but not because it is high octane.

I'm not sure about the KTMs but most bikes run higher compression piston than a standard car but 91/92 pump gas is fine. I just put in a 10.5:1 compression piston in my XR and the manufacturer (JE Pistons) recommended 92 pump gas. At 11:1 they did not recommend pump gas.

However I don't think using high octane gas is bad for your bike, especially if it over heats. Heat is a big factor in pre detonation. It is just more expensive.

I did run some 102 octane in my old XL175 with a straight pipe once. It was fun, but I think it was mostly from the straight pipe and not the gas. I lost alot of torque but gained a little top end.

The bike only wants enough octane to control pinging and detonation. Much more than that you start losing power and throttle response. 92-100 octane probably fine. More than that and the stock engine will start to run flat and lose throttle response.

Dwight

Higher octane equals a slower burn rate. The slow burn is to prevet pre-ignition which is what limits compression ratio. Production bikes have the compression ratio set for pump gas so nothing is gained by higher octane unless you increase compression ratio and yes if you use a high octane gas with a moderate to low compresion ratio it will produce less power then pump gas