Sign in to follow this  

Enclosed Trailer Insurance?

I am going to buy a new 6x12 enclosed trailer in the next couple weeks, but today my dad and I hit a snag as far as buying one goes.

From what I understand, in NY, any trailer under 999lbs doesn't need any kind of insurance on it's own. The trailer that I am looking at weighs in at 1080lbs.

So, I need to get the trailer it's own insurance policy, correct? And how much will that policy cost me?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I'm new at the whole trailer thing...lol

My enclosed trailer costs $30 a year to insure. Of course, the house, 2 vehicles, and trailer are all with the same company.

• Like 1

Wouldn't The Dmv Want Proof Of Insurance When Registering The Trailer? I Just Purchased A New 6x12 That Weighs 1395 And I Registered It 3 Weeks Ago And Dmv Never Said A Word About Insurance.

I am going to buy a new 6x12 enclosed trailer in the next couple weeks, but today my dad and I hit a snag as far as buying one goes.

From what I understand, in NY, any trailer under 999lbs doesn't need any kind of insurance on it's own. The trailer that I am looking at weighs in at 1080lbs.

So, I need to get the trailer it's own insurance policy, correct? And how much will that policy cost me?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I'm new at the whole trailer thing...lol

Is this for liability, or damage, theft, fire, etc???

From- http://nysdmv.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nysdmv.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=570&p_created=1078408819&p_sid=XFMjNjwi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29ydD0mcF9yb3dfY250PTE0OSZwX3Byb2RzPSZwX2NhdHM9MzYmcF9wdj0mcF9jdj0xLjM2JnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9YW5zd2Vycy5zZWFyY2hfbmwmcF9wYWdlPTImcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1pbnN1cmFuY2UgdHJhaWxlcg**&p_li=&p_topview=1