Sign in to follow this  

What do you think of those handguards?

Hi all,

I am trying to find cheap handguards. My bike currently have plastic open handguards (UFO brand), but it do not find them adequate: I would prefer aluminum for robustness and closed type for protecting my levers and my hands...

I am a newbie driver (i.e. very bad :applause: ) and do not plan to make MX jumps anytime soon, so I am not too concerned about my hand/arms beeing trapped in the loops and breaking (the usual reason for going to open handgards). I will mount them quite low nonetheless, I think it should make me safe if I go over the handlebar...

Acerbis seems to be the major player here in Belgium, but they are expensive, too expensive for me considering buying new (I may consider used ones).

During my search, I found this on EBay: http://cgi.befr.ebay.be/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=016&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=260095269868&rd=1&rd=1

They call it "venom" handguards, never seen anything about it on internet, so I am a little bit hesistant, but even considering the shipping cost, it is quite cheap for new aluminium reinforced handguards, at least in Europe

Do you have any experience with those? good or bad?

Thanks!

Greg.

I'm kinda guessing here, but 36 Euros roughly equates to $48 US dollars, so that isn't a bad price, considering what bikes cost over there.:lol:

As long as it's an aluminum reinforced guard, combined with the plastic shields, they should be all right-even if you do break the plastic portion, you can still remove the plastic and run them as a straight aluminum guard with no shields.

Looks like it comes with a full hardware kit for both aluminum or steel bars, so that's a plus.:applause:

I have never heard of "Venom" guards either, but I'd say go for it, unless you can get something cheaper that is similar, they look to be a decent guard, just not a fancy name on them.