Sign in to follow this  

Lotta Questions

I'm looking at a 2007 DRZ400SM in black, but know next to nothing about the bike except that everyone here seems to love theirs.

I'm 48 and haven't ridden the street since 1980 though I've been riding MX again for the last 6 years. I just need a commuter bike for riding to work (26 mi 2 lane highway 1 way) and thought keeping the dirt bike geometry would help shorten the learning curve.

Could someone explain the difference between the models. I've seen three, the S, SM & E. Are there pros & cons or big differences in engine, suspension, available aftermarket parts between them? Any info you could throw out there would be appreciated.:applause:

Wow... 26 miles each way? Are you sure you want a dirt bike for this commute? You might want a corbin seat.

S - Street legal model with 36mm Mikuni BSR carb.

SM - SuperMoto, street legal model with 36mm Mikuni BSR carb.

E - Offroad, not street legal, used to come with Keihin FCR 41mm but now for '07 36mm BSR.

Wow there is a lot but basically:

The E is a dirt only model, comes with higher compression, better carb and is the lightest of the 3 models

The S is the duel sport version, good in dirt with mods, same carb as SM, lower compression than the E (due to 3 ply base gasket). Same forks as the E and a good choice for DS riding with mods.

The SM is basically the street model, different gearing than the S and E (15/45 and 14/47 respectively) and inverted forks (I think 99% sure).

After market part support for all models is great you want it you will find it, within reason.

The SM sounds like a good commuter for you, you might want to get taller gearing than it comes with stock to help out a little and get the FCR carb.

All the bikes need some stuff done to them. Protection for the cases (very soft magnesium), radiators, cam tensioner can stretch your cam chain but you can do it after you get it set up the way you want.