Sign in to follow this  

Which one would you go for?

I have an 05 RMZ that i love how it rides on the track, I just sold my 02 CRF that i had modded to the gills to make it turn. both 450s I have been riding for about 4 yrs now and have done alot of track and now have started really getting into scrambles. I have found that going around the same mile and half track gets boring after a while. plus at my age 38 Im not as competitive on the track as i would like. But, i have found that in the woods I can hold my own and to be honest dont care where i finish just as long as i enjoyed the challange.

to my point. I am going to be looking at KTMs over hte course of this season and I was wondering which would give me the best ride on both the track and the woods? 450 sx xc xcw or 505 sx or the 525.

I am not looking for one that is street ready though.

Thanks for your input, I hope to try them all out over this season.

I kinda went through the same thing. Spend all day at a motox track for one hour of riding on the same loop. I still enjoy practice at the local track, because I can show up at five and ride till I puke. I really enjoy worcs races and two hour endurance races. Like you I enjoy the challenge. And nothing like a good 70-100 mile loop of tough single track with a fast group of guys.

I switched from 450's (yamaha, honda, and suzuki) for a ktm xc250fw. It's alot more fun to ride, and I believe I'm faster on it. I put a 315 kit on it and it's a sweet bike. Even with the 315 it's still mellow enough to ride all day and not get tired. I even look forward to riding the track with it!

I went to costa rica in jan and rode a 200exc for a week and fell in love with it. If all I did was ride trails I could live happily with that bike.

I quess I'm getting old, because I would'nt go back to the big bike. I ride for the fun of it.