Sign in to follow this  

Fork seals covered under 1yr warranty? 400 SM

My fork seals are leaking and i'm just wondering whether they'll be covered...i have 4000km on my DRZ-SM...

my service manager is kinda dragging his heels on finding out...

to my knowledge no,unless covered under good will.

how many miles?

brakes,forks seals,clutches etc are usually not covered.

seriously? it only has 4000km on it!!! I bought it in July but its only been ridden for 4 of those months!

Did you try going around the seals with something thin? I'm not sure which to use, I have no experience here but I've seen it posted that a piece of a grit can get under the seal and that trick has worked. Try searching for more info.

Hope it's something simple like this for you, I'm so glad mine haven't started leaking despite being submerged in mud once and covered in it many other times.

I'm searching a bit, first post that came up didn't talk about that trick, but I wanted to quote something Harry was told:

He said: "Seals are weird. They can last years, or fail after one ride. The tiniest piece of grit can cause one to go bad, or the front end can get caked in mud and the seals are fine."

Fork seals leaking on (almost) brand new bike?!?!

This guy used old film negative and contact cleaner successfully:

Leaking fork seals(fixed) how to

Good luck!

If Suzuki covers them make sure you post it. I would be very impressed with them if they did.

to my knowledge no,unless covered under good will.

how many miles?

brakes,forks seals,clutches etc are usually not covered.

So there are some good points to living over here then.

Neil. :bonk::naughty::D

Much easier to defend home, family, and self with something having more ammo than fresh seals.

Sorry about that Eddie.

I just find it very surprising that motorcycle warranty is so different over there to what I am used to.

Over here it is for at least 2 years, and covers parts and labour with no milage limit.