Hello, new here

Hello to everyone. New to this site. I heard about it on another fourm.

I have been riding for about 25 years and used to do a lot of dirt riding until I tore my knee up about 12 years ago. After I recovered from that I did some light dirt riding until about 6 years ago when I decided to sell my tired XR. Since then I have stuck to street bikes but have the urge to get back into some light tail riding/exploring. I have been thinking about a dual sport since I can use it to commute on plus go exploring on my days off. My last dirt bike was a 83 XR500 super pig which I rode up until it was sold . Was fun but a handfull. It looks like the XR650L is even heavier :naughty: but it is one of the bikes I have been considering. I haven't read any magazines on the newer bikes but see the Suzuki 400 is fairly popular. I am in the trying to figure out which bike I want stage but am leaning towards the bigger bikes since it will be ridden on the freeway quite often to work.

Currently I have my Kawasaki ZRX1200 and ZX12R but I miss getting dirty so i will be selling the ZX12 and using the funds to buy the dual sport.

Well, off to search the fourms. :bonk:

I thought the Suzuki might be underpowered. Since the bike will spend quite a bit of time commuting on the freeway I am worried about having to rev its guts out for miles on end. I know there are hop up parts for it but I would rather not tear into the motor.

I have ridden a friends XR650L on the street and I am familiar with that along with the engine being close to my old XR. I went to the the KTM and Huusky sites for a quick look. Maybe later today after taking a nap (working nights sucks!) I will head to a couple of dealers to have a look. Looks like it will be a nice day for a ride too.