Sign in to follow this  

kx85 for my 12yr old daughter

Question: my 12 yr old daughter needs a new bike. She has outgrown the crf80 that she has. She looks pretty funny riding it. She's now about 5-1 and 105lbs, very atheletic and physically fit from years of soccer and gymnastics.

She needs a bigger bike. My wife has a ttr125 which is a good size for her, but that bike is heavy, especially when you have to pick it up. The kx85 specs show that its about the same height, is 20% lighter, etc. She doesn't need a lot of power because she just putts around the trails. She's not a beginner, but also not a racer.

I am not an expert on 2 strokes (yet). But does the powervalve on the kawasaki's allow me to tune the bike's power? I just need a mellow bike for her to ride. She probably will never race or really go very fast. So light weight, a good low end and easy starts after crashing are my main criteria.

What types of powervalves are available. How tunable is the power delivery? Is the powervalve unique to kawasaki's and suzuki's?

I'm Not Sure About The Adjustability Of The Power Valve, But You Could Always Put A Heavier Flywheel On It To Mello The "hit" Out

I would also reccomend a flywheel weight, and i think you could play around with the powervalve but im not sure. what ever you decide to to i hope she has fun!:bonk:

I think it would be a good idea to get her on one and ride it if possible. A two stroke that is. It's a world of difference when it comes to throttle management. 85's need to be reved into the power band to keep from fouling plugs every ride. My 9yr old rides an RM and plugs are an issue. When he was on the ttr125 I had no worries. good luck