Sign in to follow this  

KTM cool down

Hey All, ThumperTalk newbie here. I need some help with cooling dowm my 07 KTM 450xc-w on the trails, that doesn't involve waiting six months for a backordred KTM fan kit.I heard Gas Gas fan kits cross over, but I can't seem to find anyone who knows enough about both of them to help out. I've already swapped out my factory fluid with Engine Ice, which helped a little. But I still over heat on tight trails, and it's not even summer yet up here in the NorthWest. Does anyone know of any other fan kits that would work? I'm also not opposed to getting a new aftermarket radiator set up, as long as I can get it with a fan. Thanx

Bill

I have an 06 450xc and it too can run rather hot when riding slow on tight trails with the kids. Usually what I'll do is ride my normal pace and stop more often and wait for them to catch up with the bike off. I guess I'll have to see what happens later on when it gets hotter out.

I think overall, the RFS like many bikes run hot at low speeds, especially if one slips the clutch a lot. About the only alternative is to either speed up, get a fan kit, or build your own kit using a cheap computer fan.

Really with the right jetting the right amount of coolant, and not idling the bike you shouldn't overheat, fan or no fan. Have you re-jetted from the excessively lean stock set-up?

Supposedly the restrictive exhaust makes the '07 EXC's run a bit hotter; I'm not a loud exhaust fan, but steps 1, 2 & 3 for me would be fix the jetting, set the coolant level correctly (barely covering the fins when level), and remove the highly restrictive reduced diameter internal pipe.

I've never had a need for a fan or engine ice even with a highly restrictive rad guard.

Good luck

JD kit and an RLRProduct.com coolant recover tank. i have a computer fan too but the crt is all you need.