Sign in to follow this  

Finding the perfect supermoto - help?

Wow this site is phenomenal, I am absolutely thrilled to stumble upon this during my research period for my new toy!! Everyone on here seems to f'in cool and hepful. So here is my dilemma, I need to find the right bike for me, and know all of you have all the helpful tips to lead me in the right way.

I have about 11 years of dirt riding experience, i have a cr250, and about 2 years of street bike experience, i have a honda f4i. Plus i have numerous other toys that i plan on selling to obtain the funds for my new bike.

Im keeping the 4fi but selling the cr250 plus others so my budget will be around a little under $6000 to start off and actually get a bike. The supermoto world looks soooo awesome and i cant wait to start riding.

I'm not looking to get into the hardcore die-hard racing aspect, however I am totally stoked to give it a try once or twice. I own my business, work 2 jobs and go to school, so a full-time racing hobby probably wouldn't fit in - UNFORTUNATELY. I live in San Diego, CA in a little beach community called pacific beach and I am looking for a supermoto to shred around and terrorize the town. I want the most fun bike possible for just that reason, to have fun on. It's not for commuting, traveling, or racing, just to have fun. I love pullin 2nd-3rd wheelies down the road, dippin around turns, etc, etc. Which bike is best for me?? I need something rather bullet proof, i take great care of my toys, but I definitely dont have the time to be wrenching on the thing every other day.

At this point im on the verge to go out - like tomorrow - and buy a Suzuki drz400sm but why not post a thread and see what people say. Close second to that are the smaller KTM's, however the husky's and aprilias look amazing!

PLEASE HELP SO I CAN GET OUT THERE AND START RIPPING. Im too excited to wait!