Sign in to follow this  

dual sport dot tires

I have a 2006 dr650, im looking for some good off road tires but want something that will handle good on the road with as long of life as I can get out of them. Any suggestions?

I ran Continental TKC 80s on my 650 Vstrom and I thought they were great performers. The only place that I never tried them was mud. I like Perelli Scorpions too, great road tire but not as good as the Continentals off road. In my experience, the TKC 80 is one of the more versatile D/S tires available.

Conti_tkc80.jpgMT90AT_Rear.gif

I will second the TKC-80s. There only downside is that the rear doesn't last very long and they are a bit pricey. There are a huge improvement on gravel roads over the stock tires because the front holds light years better in loose stuff. My rear is almost gone and i am going to try a D606 with the TKC-80 front which is a popular combo.

I have been running the Kenda K270 which are a 50/50 tires for 7 years now. I average 3k-4k on the rear and 6k on the front. It is a good all around tire. But like all 50/50 tires you have to compromise somewhere. It performs well in the dirt and street but does not excell at either. Very loose sand and sticky mud are it's weak points. Other than that I have no complaints. The 510 rear is offered in a 6 ply rating also. On the plus side I can get both tires for under $100.

RH

Based on personal experience, front and/or rear TKC 80s are dangerous in the mud and wet trails. Great on pavement.

I like D606's. I expect about 2000 usable miles out of them. Got a set of Mefo's and an extra set of 606's. Think I'll stick with the 606's. They are predictable on the road. And can't be beat off road. DOT approved that is.

Two thumbs up :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

• Like 1