From quads to bikes. 250 or 450?

I have a TRX450R... which im trying to sell to get a dirtbike.. all my friends and family ride quads.. but i want a bike... so im going through with it.. No wim just trying to decide what bike... Im a big guy.. about 6'2 270lbs...17 years old.

I had a yz125 back about 3-4 years ago.... i went form snowmobiling to dirtbikes.. so i didnt know how to shift or anything.. i laid it down hard and ever since iv been riding quads.. but i wanna get back up on that..

Im trying to decide between a 250 or a 450... im not experienced in bikes... but cause of my weight iv had people tell me to go 450.. cause as soon as i get used to the 250 i will want more power....

So please tell me what u think..

Thx!

You're a big boy, a 250 is going to be pretty strained pulling you around I would think.

Also coming off a TRX450R you are probably not going to be that impressed with the power of a 250.

Big boy or not. You need to be sure you could handle a 450. I'm the same size as you and have recently had a CRF450R, a Predator 500, and currently ride a 525 EXC. Both the 450 and 525 would walk all over the Predator. On the 525 it takes a fair amount of throttle control to keep the front end planted when it hooks up. The big change in going from a 4 wheeler to 2 is how much faster you'll get off the corners then trying to slow down enough before the next.

Have you had the opportunity to ride a 450 2-wheeler?

How about split the difference with a 400. Maybe an XR400, EXC400 or DRZ400? They're bigger than the 250's which would probably be under powered for a big dude like you, but not as racey as a 450 (gobs of power most people don't need).

I was going to suggest something like an 400 EXC. There are plenty of options to get more power down the road.