2001 exc250?

Looking at buying my friend's '01 exc 250. He has ridden it a lot, just trails, and now has a new 450exc and wants to sell the old bike.

rides well, nothing really stood out to me except it needs a new front brake master cylinder and the jetting needs to be adjusted. He has replaced the fork seals 2 times, new chain and sprockets, fairly new exhaust and tires. He is also very particular about cleaning the bike after each ride. He has never touched the engine as far as I know. It didn't smoke more than what seems normal for a two stroke.

Is there anything I should look at before I would buy it? How much $$ would I be looking at to rebuild the engine (I am new to owning my own 2-stroke but not motorcycles) and should I do that soon with the bike being 8 years old?

I have been searching a lot now with no luck and ktmtalk does not like my non-free email :excuseme: ,help would be greatly appreciated

If all it needs is a top end, less than $150. You'll probably have to disassemble and clean the powervalve--they get gummy quick. If he's *never* done it, you might want to, but as long as it's still running well (that could be the cause of the jetting issues, too) it's not imperative.

Other than that, I wouldn't mess with the bottom end unless you can hear that it needs to be done. Mine's the same year and I'd still be on my factory crank if I hadn't filled the engine with water in north Idaho a couple years ago.

BTW, you can e-mail the admin at KTMtalk and ask him to allow your e-mail address. He's just trying to keep out spammers and people who sign up once to use the classifieds.

Thats what I needed to know, Thanks!

Those are pretty solid motors. Like was said, if anything maybe a top-end job. There are a few things I always recommend checking on used KTM's:

Shock heim bushing- place bike on a center stand. Slowly move the swingarm up and down near the rear wheel. You're feeling for a little play in the bushing. It might need to be replaced.