Sign in to follow this  

ACTUAL cost of 4 stroke maintenance??

I've been thinking about picking up my nieghbors YZ250F. I am just so scared of the $$$COST$$$ of maintenance. What is usual cost when one goes pop??

I've been riding my CR125 for abotu 7 months and it has been very good with not to many problems at all.

What would be actual cost of....

1. Oil Change (incl. filter)

2. Air Filter change

3. Valve adjustment (and also how often does a 4 stroke really need to be adjusted?)

4. If the motor does blow, what am I looking at cost wise??

Please list any other maintenance along with the cost of it.

DO yuo recommend the switch?? (2 smoke to 4 stroke)

They aren't that bad unless they blow up, but if you maintain it properly and know when to rebuild it if it has time on it, then it won't blow up. Air filter is the same as a two stroke, just clean and oil it often. Oil change is just the cost of a quart of oil and a filter (which is a couple bucks). You don't have to change the filter every oil change, I do mine every third oil change. You don't need to pay someone to check you valve adjustment, it is an easy job that anyone can do in a half hour using the manual. They should be checked about every 10-15 hours of riding time. Other than that, the rest of the maintenance is the same as a two stroke (greasing links, steering head, lubing chain, changing tires, sprockets, ect.). If your engine has been shimmed a couple times and it needs to be again, it would be smart to just do a rebuild, that would save you the cost of a total engine when a valve breaks and goes through the head.

I've spent more damn money in 2 stroke oil then Ive ever spent on my four stroke...plus the damn four stroke get WAY better fuel millage. If it kabooms and costs me 2 grand to fix I think I will still pocket a couple hundred over my 2 stroke lol