Husky warm start procedure?

I have a 1993 WXE-350 Husky. I love the bike and it starts up with 1 kick when cold (fuel enricher on). Never a problem when I first start it up. However, after riding it for 20 or 30 minutes, God help me if it stalls out or I shut it off. I usually have a hell of a time getting it restarted. What is the correct procedure for starting oneof these?

I read somewhere about using the compression release (it does have one) to get the piston to a certain location prior to starting. I am pretty new to big four strokes and don't really know how to use the compression release properly. How do you know where the piston is?

Any advice on warm starting this beast? Thanks for any help you can give me.

Frank Nye

I just got off the phone w/ George @ Up-Tite Husqvarna, and we got on the topic of “hot starting”.

Here is what he shared with me:

One of three ways:

1: Start like normal, using the compression release and kicking as you normally would. Hopefully that works. (My opinion is that Husky’s aren’t critical with piston location, unlike the YZF’s, never have been for me anyhow)

2: Hold in compression release, and at same time, pull the throttle back all the way. Then, while doing that, kick it over easy 7-10 times. Then try step (1) again.

3: If (2) fails, then pull out the choke, use and use starting procedure (1) as always….

A hot start system is not something you need to install according to George….(I have it though, don’t say that too loud)

Hope that helps…

:)

Hey Frank,