Downshift w/o Clutch?

As a real newbie, I bought a book on motocross/offroad riding techniques. One of the suggestions is to downshift without using the clutch. It does say to use the clutch when upshifting though. I don't have the book with me right now but as I remember it, the procedure is simply to close the throttle and kick it down a gear. Is this common and safe (safe for the tranny I mean)? Thanks,

jim

I think eventually you would damage your tranny.

What would you achieve by doing it anyway? :)

You can upshift and downshift all you want on dirt without damage to the tranny.

No racer I know uses the clutch to shift ...UNLESS they want a smooth downshift so as not to lose traction, especially on downhills.

This is a common thread on many sites and you will hear 2 answers. Figure out from the responders their riding background and experience and go from there.

I've ridden and raced the following bikes and have NEVER had any transmission problems with ANY of them.... EVER.

-1972 TM250

-1978 PE175

-1980 PE175

-1990 XR600

-1994 KDX200

-1996 XR400

-1998 KX250

-2000 DR-Z400

BUT, if you are riding on the ROAD, use the clutch.

I'm with the good doctor, I've ridden all kinds of dirt bikes since the early 70s and have never used the clutch lever to shift. A quick flick on the gas is all you need.

I raced my bike once and did a lot of clutchless down shifting. I just didn't have time to pull the lever in and shift. I did always manage to chop the throttle though.

I do it when trail riding aggressively too.

I don't think its good for your tranny, but doubt it does much damage either. My tranny isn't under much of a load since I'm not on the throttle and slowing down.

I run full synthetic oil and change it often for peace of mind.

Nowadays, I rarely use the clutch to upshift. And, more and more often, I'm not using it to downshift either. I just stab it into whatever gear I need and don't expect to have any problems.