Suspension

Hey you guys!

I know there have been tons of posts already about the DR-Z:s suspension but I can´t find the answer for my question.

I recently started riding trails/offroad after a couple of years on crotchrockets and I love it. I winded up with an DR-Z since I had a GSX-R750 I had to trade in and the Suzuki-dealer were the only one willing to do it (roads and insurance are killing the road-racers over here).

Anyway, I´ve had trouble riding in the sand since I find the bike pushing the front all the time and I´ve dumped it quite a few times when the front has just disapered on me. I went home and banged my head against a wall for being a crappy rider.

Then I tried a friends KX 250 and another friends KTM 400 EXC and I realised that all you had to do on these bikes were to lean them and pin it and the bike went were I wanted it to, even in deep sand! The nightmare were earlier today when I took the DR-Z to a local MX-track which is only sand and I dumped it twice in two laps due to front wheel running away on me. I also find the suspension bottoming out quite often while on the trails and large areas of sand.

I´m about 85kg (don´t know what that´s in lbs, about 200 I guess?).

I desperately want to make my bike more like the KTM, going were I want it to and not follow all the other tracks in the sand and whipping it´s front away on me. What I´ve been thinking about is stiffer springs front and rear to help it stop bottoming out as well. I see the suspension as the major difference between the bikes I´ve tested and my DR-Z but I don´t know about the weight-balance though. I don´t know jack about suspension to be honest, I just want to know how to make it sharper.

Can someone please help me? I would really appreciate it!

I have to be honest, if I could afford to switch to a 400 or 520 EXC at the moment I´d do it... A MX-er is not suitable fo my kind of riding with alot of fast trails and quite long rides during a day with no stops for gas.

Thanks!