Sign in to follow this  

Big two-stroke hit and tall rider

I'm new to the dirt. I'm training on an '07 CR250. My son and I spent a weekend in mid-December with Gary LaPlante and his MotoVentures 2-day off-road boot camp. Since then we've been practicing the same drills pretty religiously here at home.

I see progress in many skill areas, but I still have a hard time managing the big hit of the two-stroke in a standing position. Too often that sudden jolt puts my butt back down on the seat, often with a fear-induced adrenaline rush.

I'm 6' 7", 245 lbs. without gear, ride in the New Mexico desert. I wonder if my size might be working against me. Regardless, I think my progress is hampered by my lack of confidence in managing the powerband.

Suggestions?

--

Mark

The only advice I have is to hold the bike with your knees.

If your using cheap gear maybe try upgrading to a pair of pants with leather patches on the knees. I'm sure someone else will have better advice but thats all I could think of.

you may be so tall that a tall seat foam is in order to have something to grab with your knees. I'm quite a bit shorter than you and find a tall seat foam helps me a bunch.

Bryce

i would say, work on squeezing the bike with your legs, and making sure that your head is over the bars and elbows up, legs bent ect ect. and practice practice. idk if you are already doing that or not. you should watch the shane watts video " dirt wise" there is a ton of good tips in there. good luck.

Are you use to the power if you sit down. I would try to find a dirt road and try standing up there. It just takes some getting use to. I grip with my knees and stay alittle over the handle bars. This seems to help.just my 2cents

The faster I ride, the more I find myself forward.

I have been hitting myself in places I have never hit myself because of my forward position.