new to thumpertalk introducing myself

I'm pretty new to dirtbike and dual sport riding. I used to have a xl250 in high school but nothing since...that was about 20 years ago. I have been mostly involved with Jeeps and other 4x4s. I love anything that has to do with exploring the woods and back roads. I bought a 1991 DR250 about 2 years ago and have completely fallen in love with the sport. I can't believe it took me so long. My poor Jeep feels neglected because I didn't even put it on the road last year. In the past 2 years I have bought 3 bikes...the first was my 1991 DR250 (purchased for $500) second was my 2002 DRZ400 (purchased for $500 also believe it or not) third came my 1995 DR250 (purchased for $1100). I love this site and everybody seems knowledgable and helpful.

I hope these images post because it's my first attemp.

http://s261.photobucket.com/albums/ii75/dpw1124/

Welcome aboard Dave. That's one heckof a deal on that 400! :applause:

Yeah, The guy I bought it from was told that the engine was junk from the dealership. The DRZ had less than 500 miles on it and I figured I could still make well over my $500 back if I parted it out. As it turns out , the piston had made contact with one of the valves and damaged the valve seat. I bought a used head on Ebay and runs like a charm. I hope to dual sport it and have all the parts to do so, but nothing is easy at the Massachusetts RMV from my experience...we'll see.

welcome, how do you like the 250 vs. the 400 for your type of riding

welcome, how do you like the 250 vs. the 400 for your type of riding