new 08 break-in maintenance???

I'm new to working on bikes and I'm very cautious to go into anything I'm unsure of such as completely disassembling and cleaning my front suspension. I don't have the right tools either so I'm wondering how big a deal it is not to do this as suggested the manual. I don't want to dig into my valves to check clearance either, lack of experience and tools again. I changed the oil and filter after about 3/4 of a tank of gas after breaking it in. I'm going to tighten my chain and my buddy who has an 05 only does oil/filter, and air filter maintenance and he has had no internal issues. suggestions?...

Welcome. Do a search on this subject - lots and lots and lots of discussion about it.

I'm also curious on what to lube besides my chain and sprockets after washing my bike, I have a small powerwasher and I've read your supposed to stay away from bearings and suspension components which is hard to do but I need to know what to lube afterwards.

First thing I would buy would be the service manual for the bike. It tells you step by step what to do to check valve clearances, suspension disassembly, and everything else that you would ever need to do to the bike. The first thing I did when I bought my bike brand new, was to take the linkage and swingarm apart to make sure they put plenty of grease in those bearings from the factory. I would also buy a can of cable lube to make sure you have all of the cables lubed as well. It's intimidating to work on your bike at first, but you have everyone on this site to help you out, and the service manual does an excellent job of telling you how to do everything.