Sign in to follow this  

yz250 topend rebuild...attempt myself?

My bike needs a new top end and I was thinking about giving it a try myself. I have never done it before nor have I ever seen it done before. I have very little experience working on cars or bikes. I am a pretty smart guy and am very good at problem solving.

I would really love to know how to do this and it will save me some money and give me confidence to do just about anything else that would be needed on my bike.

Is this something I should try myself? How hard is it really?

By the way my bike is a 05' yz250

The beauty of the 2 stroke bikes is their simplicity. Most anyone can do a top end on a 2 stroke. Get a manual read over the procedure. Lay out the tools, get a clean work space and tear into it. There shouldn't be any specialty tools required just a torque wrench. One of those pipe spring hooks helps alot in removing the pipe. Get a piston kit with the gaskets and you will need to drain your coolant system. The bore can be cleaned up with a scotchbrite pad. I would clean the carbon off of the combustion chamber and remove the gunk from the powervalve while youn are in there. I am no master mechanic but can pull off top ends rather easily both 2t and 4t.

The hardest thing about the whole job is putting the little circlips in that hold the pin in the piston. Just be careful you do not fatigue or bend the little clips, and don't drop one into the bottom end either.