Sign in to follow this  

Race tech springs

I keep reading that the RMZ250 needs heavier springs in just about every mag. I may be buying an 08 within the next couple of days. I contacted my local suspension tech and he said by the Race tech site they recommend ligter springs!? Does anyone have experience on Race tech? My friend used them for his sport bike and felt that the springs he ordered to the stock specks felt harder (but was very happy with the results)-could this be the reason they recommend a lighter spring? I weight 170 so I know the stock springs won't cut it if they say they bottom easily for a 150 pound rider. Any help would be appreciated. I am a fast Vet (ride Vet Expt) if this helps.

You're not the only one confused... I had my stock springs tested by Factory Connection and they rated both the fork and shock springs lighter than what Suzuki claims. That means if you buy aftermarket stuff with the same rating it will most likely be stiffer. Then to really confuse the issue when you get your suspension revalved it can in effect make the springs feel stiffer. I ran RaceTech for several years and it was a bargain because the valving would stiffen up the suspension where I did not have to buy springs. On the other hand, I never could get their stuff to work on repetitive bumps. After my FC suspension work I use the stock fork springs and 5.7 OEM rear (really a 5.6). Sounds odd but it is fairly well balanced...

i have race tech in my 07 i am a fast c rider do 80 foot tables etc....i have stock springs and race tech gold valves in my bike....stock spring rate..i weigh 165 without gear on and its perfect on the small stuff and takes the big hits too....no complaintsat all i think we have cl 10 and ch7 in the forks on my bike .......thats the valving stack #s