Sign in to follow this  

Engine Removal Procedure (for shipping to Eddie)

Hi All

I think I nuked the engine on my new to me 2000 DRZE, :ride:

That story is covered in this thread.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=624509

I searched the forum and found this thread about engine removal... :thumbsup:

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5464763

but it seems to be focused more on the shipping process rather then the engine removal process.

Since I am a complete Noob :thumbsup: with this bike (haven't even had a chance to put a first tank of gas in it yet), what I would like to do is attempt to log the steps I will follow to remove the engine and ship it to Eddie as well as take a few pictures along the way.

I'd really appreciate any feedback or comments from you gurus :ride: as I work my way through the process. :confused:

TIA

Randy from Burbank

Here is my dead DRZ arriving home from the mountains.

IMG_2632.jpg

Here is another picture of the right side.

IMG_2634.jpg

Anybody recognize the exhaust and gas tank from this pic? (I will take closeups in the next day or two.)

I spent the first few days cleaning and organizing my garage. And the first key part arrived...

IMG_2636.jpg

I read though the engine removal procedure in chapter 5 and most of it seems straight forward, but I do have a couple of preliminary questions:

The book recommends that I remove some top end components and those located in the crankcase covers while the engine is in the frame. Is this necessary if I am planning to send the entire engine to Eddie?

Do I need to remove the starter?

Do I need to remove/separate the carb from the motor?

Should I remove the drive sprocket?

Does the engine come out of the right or left side of the frame?

I hope to start the actual wrench turning tomorrow/Thurday nite.

TIA

Randy from Burbank