Sign in to follow this  

SuMo, lower tubes in clamps?

Just finished my S to SM conversion, bike runs sweet!! Tires still need to be properly broken in, was a little slippery yesterday:ride: .

QUESTION:

I think I'm raked too much, should I lower my fork tubes in the triple clamps to adjust the geometry for Moto?

Any recommendations how many mm I should lower the tubes??

Thanks

Will post pics later

I left mine. I have been running this way for nearly 2 years. There were threads a couple years ago where some were dropping them. I planned to try it to see. No stability issues as yet.

LOL, I raised mine to be flush to give me more rake. I feel the bike turns plenty fast enough on the street and a little extra stability was a good thing.

If you are running super moto and the corners are real tight, lowering the forks a little may help.

LOL, I raised mine to be flush to give me more rake. I feel the bike turns plenty fast enough on the street and a little extra stability was a good thing.

If you are running super moto and the corners are real tight, lowering the forks a little may help.

I did the exact same thing. really helps with high speeds.

Thanks for the comments, I guess I can just experiment with it and see what works.

I might try 5mm lower and see what happens. I think stock was 7mm, which I left it at, so I might go to 12mm below the top of the tube.

rear sag is important too.

in other words, if you have too much rear sag now, you're front end may feel too high.

i read recently eddie recommended 75 mm sag for sm.

currently, i'm at 82 mm, with my fork caps approx. .150" over triple clamps on a converted E model & the bike feels pretty good.

I know yours is a S conversion, but when I lowered my SM, things got ugly.. a little too unstable at high speed. Took off stock mirrors, put on a steering stabilizer, then just put my forks back after two tank slappers at 55+.