I popped my cherry today

The forecast was perfect, so I took today off and drove up to the Poconos (Lost Trails) to try out my new DRZ. This was my first off-road ride ever, and HOLY CRAP did I have fun. :thumbsup: I took it easy since I am a total noob (and don't have my pads yet - just some hockey elbow pads), but had a blast. Did all the easy trails and a couple intermediates (first time it was a wrong turn, but it was so fun I went back for more). The bike did great -- I was surprised at some of the stuff I could cruise through w/ no problems. It really soaked up the rough stuff -- and I haven't even set up the suspension yet. I did take a little fall, but it was cushioned by a knee-deep mud/water hole (hidden tree limb underneath) -- I consider it being baptized! :ride: Why the hell did I wait to do this until I was 35?! :rant:

154437300603_0_ALB.jpg

985037300603_0_ALB.jpg

Sounds like you're hooked!! Now you just need some gear and you'll be set.

Oh, and one question, you were riding a drz? I think this might get moved...

D'OH! Errant mouseclicking.... Move me... (I'm definately hooked! Pants are en route from TT, but I couldn't wait. Now that I've actually ridden, I can see the wisdom of a chest protector and am gonna pick on up this weekend.)

D'OH! Errant mouseclicking.... Move me... (I'm definately hooked! Pants are en route from TT, but I couldn't wait. Now that I've actually ridden, I can see the wisdom of a chest protector and am gonna pick on up this weekend.)

Helmet, Boots, Knee guards....you shouldn't :rant: without them

BTW, way to go! Great to have another enthusiast! :thumbsup::ride:

Welcome offroad. 35 - U have ben in the dark. Now that U C the light its good 2 have U here.

Great to hear that you enjoyed it so much. I also had a blast the first time i went out to the trails and left my streetbike at home. You just get a totally different kick out of it!