Good starter bike for a big guy...

I'd like to get some opinions from people that are more knowledgeable than me.

Thinking of getting a dirt bike in the near future. My budget is $2500 max and I'll be riding 50/50 mixture MX/trails, with no illusions of becoming the next Carmichel. I have plenty of streetbike/roadracing experience so riding in not a new game for me. I've ridden couple of the new 4 stroke and 2 stroke MX bikes but I have no real experience with them, unless playing in the parking lot for 5 minutes counts as that. The big hangup here {besides the budget} is my size. I'm 240lbs. so something like a 2s 125 doesn't really appeal to me. The older "open class" KTM/Husky's seem like pretty nice bikes, but the resale value on them makes me think there is a reason they're so cheap. I'd like a 4 stroke, but beggars can't be choosy.

TIA.

For 2500 I'd look at a 250 2 stroke MX bike. Any 450 your going to get at the price is going to be fairly old. And being that old its a bit of a crap shoot as to how long it lasts before needing a top end rebuild, which are not easy and expensive on a 4 stroke (800 dollars). I would get a used 250 2 stroke (you can get a nicer bike for cheaper since the resell is low on them) and factor a new topend (couple hundred bucks) into your budget when buying the bike. They are easy to do on a 2 stroke if you have halfway decent wrenching abilities.

What open class KTM and Husky's are you talking about?

Im 240 and I ride a 1999 Cr250r. I think a 250 2 stroke would be perfect for you.

They are easy to maintian, and have plenty of power.

Look into like a 2000-2002 Yamaha or Honda.

Thanks guys.

Are there any "buyers guide" out there for 250 2 strokes?

I know some are easier to live with than others.