Sign in to follow this  

Can anyone give a step by step idiots guide to removing my front sprocket

I am not very technically minded, and have a history of screwing things up!

I want to change my chain and sprockets for the first time on my 2006 WR250f. I have managed to remove the old chain, the rear sprocket and fitted a new rear sprocket. Obviously I appreciate that the best idea is to change everthing as a set, but I cannot work out how to remove my front sprocket.

I see a nut which obviously will need to be loosened, but when I try to turn this the hole sprocket just moves. I am using an adjustable wrench to try this.

I cannot find any advice in my manual whatsoever in terms of removing this.

Can you help? What direction should I be trying the move the nut, and how do I stop the whole thing from turning? Does anyone have a video/photo of what needs to be done. Is there a recommended (cheap) tool better that the adjustable wrench?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ian

Put your rear wheel back on with the old chain. Put the bike in gear and have someone step on the rear brake. The chain will keep the countershaft sprocket from turning while you loosen it. Righty tighty lefty loosey works on Yamaha sprockets. Make sure you straighten out the locking washer on the sprocket nut first, and remember to bend the locking washer back to help keep the sprocket nut from coming loose. Good Luck, WD

Thanks I will give that a try. Only problem is my old chain is already in the bin after removing it with a grinder! Should I fit the new chain and try this do you think?

Thanks again

Ian

I want to change the front spoket bat i cant remove the back wheel. Help me please

:thumbsup:

is it stuck or something, or have you just never done it?