Sign in to follow this  

Led Tach With Shift Light

After an extensive search of the internet I have put the pieces together for a tach circuit that will work on our DRZ’s. This is a project for the “Electronics Nerds” that we may have here on TT. Everyone else would be advised to just order up a Trail Tech Vapor if they really want a tach. I also need to point out that I am by no means an electronics expert. I repair office machines for a living and that’s where my limited knowledge of electronics comes from. This is not that difficult a project if you take your time and quadruple check your work when you layout and solder the components. I have to admit I was shocked this thing worked the first time. I have never built anything like this before.

This is the circuit we will build. (Lost the link to the original author)

I used 7 green 2 yellow and one red LED in my design. The original design was for an automotive engine not a thumper. This circuit is designed for a full scale reading at 8000 RPM’s. This can be adjusted with VR1.

tachometer.jpg

The key components are the LM 2917 that converts the signal going to the ignition coil into a voltage that the LM 3914 uses to light the 10 LEDs. You use VR1 to adjust the tach to the shift point you want to use. I adjusted my circuit using my “Butt Dyno”. When the last LED lights the whole bank flashes to indicate it’s time to shift. There is a good range of adjustment here for you guys that like to bounce off the rev limiter.

VR2 is used to set the voltage regulator (LM317T) to 8 volts. I would assume it would be ok to just use a fixed 8 volt regulator here. I had a LM317T and a 25 turn 10K pot in my junk box so I just used what was called for in the original design. The circuit is “tuned” for 8 volts so this step is critical.

Here are the links to the data sheets on the LM2917 and LM3914 if you want to learn more.

http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM2907.pdf

http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM3914.pdf