Sign in to follow this  

Slight Bog at midrange? help !!!!!

Hello all:

I have a 2008 DR650SE with the DJ kit 160 main

mixture screw out 2.5 turns, snorkel removed, FMFQ2 with the stock header

and the DJ needle clipped at 4th from top with no plastic washer, pretty much exactly what they tell you to do and the bike runs way cooler sounds fantastic starts and idles great and even rides pretty good but on occasion i get a bog on rapid acceleration like it is starving for fuel i actually thought it was out of gas so i hit the reserve went to fuel up but it only took 5 litres so that wasn't it if i don't WFO the throttle it is good but every once in awhile? is this a common thing do i just need to tweak something? any help would be great i am new to the jetting thing but not afraid to get my hands dirty and by the way this forum is truly Fantastic :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :crazy::bonk::thumbsup:

there are a few mods that might help. In general I would say your slide is not lifting quick enough. Drilling a second hole in the slide should help (see keintech.com for pics) Jesse's sight also shows pics of opening up the top of the airbox. another thing would be to cut the slide spring down to reduce the sprig force and let the slide rise faster, if you have a few days read the DJ needle comparison novel and it will slowly explain the spring cut