Sign in to follow this  

300xcw/race fuel?

I noticed in the manual that 95 octane is recommended. Are you guys cutting race fuel or just running premium pump gas? We ride in very hot conditions also, should I run a 40:1 mix to offset the heat? thanx for your support. Just picked the bike up today, I'm stoked. :thumbsup:

I noticed in the manual that 95 octane is recommended. Are you guys cutting race fuel or just running premium pump gas? We ride in very hot conditions also, should I run a 40:1 mix to offset the heat? thanx for your support. Just picked the bike up today, I'm stoked. :rolleyes:

I run 91...at 45:1 so where did you find one at?:thumbsup:

I run 91...at 45:1 so where did you find one at?:thumbsup:

Motohouse in Phoenix, AZ talk to Jeremy he has one more - $7100 OTD. :rolleyes:

I use 93 octane. It works fine. I am not a gasoline expert, but I did read a good bit on the subject when I noticed the same thing in my owners manual. The 95 octane the owners manual refers to is the RON. We just use a little different method in the United States to come up with the octane number. Our octane number is usually about 4 points less that the RON of the same gas. Most European pumps deliver 95(RON) octane gas as "regular", equivalent to 90-91 gas here in the U.S. :thumbsup:

I just run premium as well with a 40:1 oil ratio. Just can't see paying the cost of race fuel on a stock motor in a bike that is just used for the occassional race and most for trail riding.

Congrats on the new ride!

I picked my 08 300xcw up at Bernies in Mesa az. 2 weeks ago. I'm running the dealer recommended 40:1 with 93 octane and jetting: 1.5 AS - N3CH #3 -162 main, very nice but a tad rich in the heat.

I usually run 100 octane in mine, it seems a little better then 93

I tried 110 and it made the bike run like crap.

my bike is only a 200 though

93 w/ MANUFACTURE recommended 50:1 Motorex...

Actually my manual reads 60:1 - just can't bring myself to do it.