What would 13 front 52 rear sprocket setup do?

Too small a front sprocket. It will eat into your swingarm and slider. Stick with the 52 or 53T rear sprocket. I take it you are talking the 450 and 525 engines ?

DR

No disrespect to DR, but I've been running 13/52 for several years with no issues.

I do check my swing arm/slider every couple of months. Some have said they have seen wear.

• Like 1

13 is fine up front, some of the models come from the factory with 13's.

13/50 on my 525 EXC. Perfect on the tight singletrack yet still hwy speed capable.

• Like 1

I listened to Dwight about the golden rule of sag and used his recommended spring, and it handles great now.

I also listened about my jetting and using a float bowl with O-ring mod, and it has no bog anymore.

I also listened to his recommendation of a 14/52 sprocket combo and I find it to be great in the tight stuff with adequate engine braking and stump pulling power.

So my recommendation is to listen to Dwight. :thumbsup::rolleyes:

i have a 450 and have 13/50 gearing, i imagine 14/52 gearing is almost the same thing, i think(though i could be wrong) that going down one tooth on the front is like going up 3 on the back. I suggest trying out 13/50 or 14/52 if you havent already and go from there.

Too small a front sprocket. It will eat into your swingarm and slider. Stick with the 52 or 53T rear sprocket. I take it you are talking the 450 and 525 engines ?

DR

K, i heard it was good for close woods so i was just wondering. i ride a 450 MXC

Again, full respect to Dwight, but I've had 13-52 on my bike since 2003 and still have the same slider on. And yes, I actually do ride it!:thumbsup:

It probably depends on the positioning of the rear wheel, as some people HAVE had an issue. I like the gearing for the riding I do; very tight mountain trails. I've never been much for fanning a clutch, so ability to pull from LOW speed is critical and I can still go as fast as I'd like even on a gravel road.