Headlight Change

Hello All,

I've recently picked up an Acerbis Cyclops headlight to replace the fugly stock DR headlight, and I have some questions about the install of this puppy.

I'll preface this by saying I have NO experience with automotive electrical systems, and very little experience in general working on motorcycles, so be gentle!

My questions pertain mainly to wiring the headlight, as the mounting seems obvious enough. Keep in mind I have not pulled the stock light off yet so I don't know what the wiring looks like.

1. Any idea if I can just wire this headlight directly to the current headlight wiring and it will work?

2. I've done some reading about relays. The Cyclops has about the same wattage as the stock, so I am assuming I will not need a relay? Is this assumption correct? I don't want to fry my wiring harness, based on some of the information I've read.

3. If I do need to use a relay, are there any good instructions online showing, in detail, the install process?

4. Any good DR wrenchers out there in cyberland who live in the Fort Worth, Texas area and would be willing to come over to the house this weekend to walk me through the install for $50 and free beer & lunch? I'll do all the work if you show me what to do!:thumbsup:

I think that's it for now, though I'm sure I will have more questions once I actually start the process. Thanks much

the electrical system on the DR is pretty straightforward so I wouldnt have any trouble explaining the procedure either in this thread or PM.

If the wattage on the new headlight is the same as the stock headlight then you are correct, there is no need for a relay.

Gee here in Maine for $50 ,free beer and lunch, I would have 20 guys standing around watching me. Any takers in Fort Worth Texas area? I wish I was there to help you.

Here's a good cyclops install from the drz400 forum:eek:

It may be similar for the dr650, but at least you'll get the general idea.