Need help deciding

I am fairly new to the motorcycling world and would appreciate some help. I am looking to buy my first bike, but I don't know what to get. I am looking for a good dual-sport bike. I would like it to handle highway speeds (at least 70 mph) and dirt roads well. I live in the mountains, so dirt roads are abundant. It doesn't necessarily need to be great for trail riding, I will be primarily sticking to the roads. Any advice? I have been researching and the KLR 650 and WR250R seem like my best two options at the moment, but I am open to suggestions. Or help on which of these two would be better.

Seems like you have a good idea what your mission is. Since Bikes today are really purpose built, you need to know what you will be doing with it. So first Where in Co are you? Will you be ridding I-70? Or doing single track around Stillwater, or Rampart range? The KLR will be fairly nice running around town with a little jeep trails etc thrown in. It will be ok with your camping gear on it. but will be a handful for a novice rider on single track, or tight trails. the 250 will be good on single track, but suck with your camping gear, and marginal around town, or on the freeway. Also, if you are younger, you will be ok with a less comfortable bike, like the 250's. I am 54 yrs old. I have a DRZ400s. Great all around bike, well built, realiable, fun, low maint. etc. It works great for short rides, is good around town, ok on single track. I wouldn't want to take a long trip on it, but some have. Plenty powerful at altitude to do what you need. the seat is uncomfortable, and the lack of a 6gear really hampers it's usefullness as a dualsport. But I would buy it again, considering your purposes. I have done 200 mile dualsport rides on it. But I consider that a stretch for a days ridding.