Sign in to follow this  

New 2 Bikes

Hey everyone, just got my 07 XR650L Brand New from the dealer a few weeks ago.I've been racing Quads (Honda TRX450R)for a couple of years and the traveling to and from races got really expensive this year so I decided to trade one in for an XR. I'm 6'1" and cannot get into a comfortable seated position at all,I always end up on the tank when I try seat back I always come forward. Don't really have any dough to throw around but will invest in comfort.

So Renazco seat,Baja tall foam,air pillow(which aren't that cheap anyway) or lowering link to level out bike? And yes I've searched,I guess if the seat was straight across I wouldn't even have a problem.Thanks,Mike.

Huh? You're 6'1" and want a lowering link?:thumbsup:

Adjust your shock sag first.

You're tall so get a bar riser, it will move you bars forward and higher. Toss the OEM handlebars for a decent bend (Renthal CR Hi is nice on my L, I'm 5'8").

I'm 6'1" and cannot get into a comfortable seated position at all,I always end up on the tank when I try seat back I always come forward.

I lowered my front forks as low as they could go in the front triple trees/or you could say I raised the front triple trees :thumbsup: ... this raised the front end a bit which helped even the bike out.

I took my seat cover off and put in some closed cell foam under the stock foam, (between the foam and the seat pan), in the front to level the seat off some. I had the foam so it was free.:thumbsup:

I've heard some aftermarket seats - Corbin in particular - INCREASE the tendency to slide forward on the bike and pin you on the tank. Look into this before you drop big bucks. They may also be lower and lessen the distance to the pegs resulting in less leg room if comfort is your 1st concern. As far as sliding forward on the seat, you might even look into some kind of anti-slip spray or something. The pants you wear may have something to do with it too. Some of mine slide and some don't.